Nevada Child Support Info for Employers


Do you have questions about income withholding regarding child support laws? Here is the official notice with all the information you need to know!



Income Withholding Order/Notice
Income withholding is the court or administratively ordered deduction of a specified amount from a parent’s income for payment of child support. All employers must honor an income withholding order/notice for child support from any state. Out-of-state income withholding orders/notices are valid throughout the country including US Territories. All states are required to use a standardized withholding form entitled Order/Notice to Withhold Income for Child Support (OMB No. 0970-0154).
A child support income withholding order/notice must be paid before all other garnishments, with one exception. The only exception is a Federal (IRS) tax levy entered prior to when the child support order was established. It is the date the child support order is established, and not the date the withholding order/notice is served on the employer, that determines precedence.
The employer deducts the specified amount of child support each pay period and sends it to the:
State Collection and Disbursement Unit (SCaDU)
PO Box 98950
Las Vegas, NV 89193-8950

Payments must be by money order, cashier’s check or business check payable to SCaDU, including electronic funds transfer (EFT). E-Mail SCaDU for EFT Instructions.
The following information must be included with each payment:
  • Full Name of the employee
  • Social Security Number of the employee
  • Employer’s Name and telephone number
  • Amount withheld for each employee

$2 Income Withholding Fee Payable to State Treasurer
Employers are required to deduct an additional $2.00 fee from the income due the employee for each income withholding, not to exceed two withholding fees per month per employee.
These fees are sent to a different location! The fees are payable at least quarterly to:

Nevada State Treasurer’s Office
PO Box 749549
Los Angeles, CA 90074-9549

***NOTE: THIS IS A FEE AND IS NOT THE CHILD SUPPORT PAYMENT. CHILD SUPPORT PAYMENTS MUST BE SENT TO “SCADU” AS NOTED ABOVE***
If an employer receives notices to withhold income for more than one employee, the employer may consolidate the fee amounts payable to the State Treasurer and pay those amounts with one check.
Each payment to the State Treasurer must be attached to a statement which provides the full name and social security number of each employee for whom the fee is made, and the fee amount(s) transmitted for the employee.

Employer’s Cost Recovery
Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 31A.090 allows employers to deduct up to $3.00 for each withholding from the amount paid the employee as reimbursement for the employer’s cost of carrying out their responsibilities.

To recap:
1.      Deduct child support payment, send this to SCaDU
2.      Deduct another $2.00, send to the State Treasurer
3.      Deduct up to $3.00, employer keeps this amount




For more information you can find the source of this document here.







Comments

  1. Some parents are able to work out private arrangements for custody and child support on their own without court intervention, and are able to manage those particulars well. While in other cases, it is preferable to seek a court order that will govern the necessary arrangements until the child becomes an adult as defined by law.




    Custody Lawyer Peabody MA

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

How to "Un" Apply Credits In QuickBooks

Employee Salary/Wage Rate Report

Qbb, Qbm, Qbx, or Qbw - What's the Difference?