NV Sales Tax News
“Quicklet” - A Podcast for QuickBooks Pro, Premier, Enterprise Solutions, Point of Sale and Peachtree users featuring helpful information, tips, tricks and suggestions for bookkeepers, business owners, and consultants.
Hi, I'm Jayne Miller, The QuickBooks Gal. Welcome to another in my series of “Quicklets” – informational podcasts about QuickBooks, Peachtree and related bookkeeping topics. Today I'll focus on a Nevada Specific Topic.
Electronic Payment Required for Tax Payments of $10,000 and Over.
Passage of Senate Bill 517 by the 2007 Nevada Legislature amends Chapter 353 of the NRS to require that, effective July 1, 2008, "all payments of money owed to a state agency for taxes, interest, penalties or any other obligations that, in the aggregate, amount to $10,000.00 or more must be made by any method of electronic transfer of money allowed by the state agency."
Beginning July 1, 2008, all tax payments of $10,000.00 or more will need to be paid through our Nevada Tax online system. You may access Nevada Tax online at http://www.nevadatax.nv.gov/web/.
First time users of Nevada Tax online system should register no less than 3 days before their payment is due to allow for manual mailing of an account password that must be used to complete the registration process.
If you have questions, please contact your Nevada Department of Taxation district office.
The Department may not allow annual filing of Sales Tax returns upon verification that a taxpayer meets the criteria set forth in NRS 372.380. The annual reporting period is a calendar year from January 1 thru December 31; the annual return is due no later than January 31 of the next year. A taxpayer must present a request, in writing, to be considered for annual reporting. The request must be received by the Department no later than September 30 of the year preceding the year for which the request is intended; i.e September 30, 2008, for the year beginning January, 2009. Requests for annual filing can not be considered if the taxpayer has reported 4 quarterly return (or 12 months) to the Department of Taxation.
The Department will review the account to verify taxable sales have not exceeded $1,500 in the preceding 12 months. Once the account has been reviewed and verified, the Department will update the taxpayer's reporting period to annual beginning January 1 of the following year and will send notification of this change to the taxpayer.
Well, that’s it for now. I appreciate your time and hope you will join us again next time for another in our Quicklet© series. If there are topics you would like me to cover, send me an email at firstname.lastname@example.org. I welcome your ideas, questions, and comments.
I’m Jayne Miller, The QuickBooks Gal. Thanks for listening.
Reno - Tahoe - Sacramento
QuickBooks® is a registered trademark of Intuit, Inc.